Iheanacho Wins Most Promising Talent, See Full CAF Awards List

Nigeria grabbed four awards at the 25th edition of the Glo-CAF Awards held Thursday night in Abuja.

The Super Falcons opened the floor on the night as they emerged winner in the Women’s National Team of the Year category. The Nigerian Ladies finished ahead of Cameroon and South Africa.

Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi were also winners as the Super Eagles duo won the Most Promising Talent and the Youth Player of the Year Award respectively.

NFF president, Amaju Pinnick, received the awards on behalf of the Arsenal and Manchester City stars as they were absent at the event.

Asisat Oshoala capped up the glittering night for Nigeria as she was voted as Women’s Player of the Year.

The Arsenal Ladies forward was also quite phenomenal in the period under review for both her London club and the Super Falcons.

Full list of winners

African Player of the Year
Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)
Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City) (Winner)
Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns) (Winner)
Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe)

Women’s Player of the Year
Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies) (Winner)
Elizabeth ADDO (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)
Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon & Rossyanka)

Most Promising Talent
Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City) (Winner)
 Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

Youth Player of the Year
Alex IWOBI (Nigeria and Arsenal) (Winner)
Eric AYIAH (Ghana and Charity FC)
Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana and Supreme Ladies)

Coach of the Year
Florent IBENGE (DR Congo national team)
Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns) (Winner)
Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team)

Club of the Year
Mamelodi Sundowns (Winner)
TP Mazembe
Zesco United

National Team of the Year
DR Congo
Uganda (Winner)

Women’s National Team of the Year
Nigeria (Winner)
South Africa

Referee of the Year
Bakary Papa GASSAMA (Winner)
Ghead Zaglol GRISHA

Football Leader of the Year
Manuel LOPES NASCIMENTO, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation

Legend Award
Laurent POKOU, Former player of Cote d’Ivoire
Emilienne MBANGO, Former player of Cameroon

Post a Comment