Mayorkun Wins Headies 2016 Rookie Of The Year

DMW singer Mayorkun has been announced as winner of the Headies 2016 Rookie of the Year competition.

He slugged it out with label mate and rapper Dremo, Chocolate City act Dice Ailes, Fuji trap infused rap act Terry Apala and Capital Hiil Music female rapper Mz Kiss.

Mayorkun was unveiled to the world by Davido earlier in March 2016 after Davido discovered his talent on social media.

The singer has since dropped three singles - 'Eleko', 'Yawa' and 'Love you tire' featuring Mr Eazi that have endeared him to the fans.

He also has a group collaboration 'Back to back' that features Davido, Dremo and Ichaba.

The proud label boss Davido congratulates him on Twitter:

Label mate Dremo who emerged second with the number of votes cast (Dice Ailes emerged third) congratulated him also on Twitter:

On why the winners were not announced at the live ceremony, the organisers explain that it was attributed to the late turn up of the nominees for their opening performances.

“The reason why the winner of this category wasn’t announced during the live show was because majority of the nominees were late for  their opening performances and the show had to go on,” The Headies said in a statement on Thursday December 29, 2016.

Post a Comment